My hijab has lost me job opportunities

Are employers unfairly biased against Muslims? Watch video on link below

http://www.aol.co.uk/article/2014/06/20/my-hijab-has-lost-me-job-opportunities/20916617/?ncid=edlinkukaolp00000010

Ainee Fatima joins Caroline of the Huffington Post to talk about how her hijab has prevented her from pursuing certain job opportunities.

Ainee says: ‘Much of my resume features work for religious groups so it gets hard applying for jobs. I also wish I could leave out my name from my resume.’

In a recent study, researchers discovered that employers are less likely to respond to a job application if it includes evidence of membership in a faith group. And it appears the faith group employers least want to engage is Islam.

The study sent fake applications to employers adding different religious details – Catholic, evangelical Christian, atheist, Jewish, Muslim, pagan, and ‘Wallonian’ (a fictitious religion) as well as a group of CVs without any religious affiliation. Applicants expressing any religious identification had 19 percent fewer overall contacts than the applicants from the non-religious control group. Muslims however had 32 percent fewer contacts.

Fatima says: ‘Discrimination is very real. Most college students are involved in religious-based groups so how can you not put that on your resume?’

via – http://www.aol.co.uk/article/2014/06/20/my-hijab-has-lost-me-job-opportunities/20916617/?ncid=edlinkukaolp00000010

2 comments

Leave a Reply

